happy new year!

vintage new years

“For last years words belong to another language. And next years words belong to another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning.” ~ T.S. Eliot

Happy New Year!

I am always excited at the prospect of a new year. I love the idea of a blank slate, a calendar that has yet to be filled in, a year that holds nothing but promise and possibility. And although I recognize that it’s not really a blank slate, and that cataloging time is a human construct, I still feel a thrill each January 1st. For me, it’s a time of reflection, a time to “check in” and think about the past year – what I’ve accomplished, what I’ve risked, what I’ve learned. I think about the dreams I still ache to reach and feel an infusion of energy. It’s a new year! I feel inspired to try again, to fail better.

The last several months have been ridiculously busy, and I haven’t posted here in a while … my last post was somewhat prescient, as if I sensed that would happen. Through a combination of work, parenting, my mother going into the hospital for several weeks (and her subsequent recovery), the holidays, trying to have a bit of a social life, and the business of everyday existence, I haven’t had much time. Time to myself has been precious, and I’ve used that limited time to publish the fourth issue of Siren, to edit my upcoming collection of stories, and to develop some new stories.

I plan on doing some work on the site, refreshing some of the pages, and generally updating everything here. So please bear with me through these changes! I’m also trying to get into a new schedule which will hopefully give me more time here. Thank you to all who follow my blog – it is always humbling to realize that I have followers on this website, friends and fans of my work who sometimes write me personally and/or leave comments on my posts. I’m so grateful for your support, and I truly can’t express how much it means to me. Thank you. Wishing you all the best in 2014!! xo

 

 

 

 

One response to “happy new year!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

