reading series 1.2

Salvador Dali, “The Persistence of Memory”

This is the second post in my weekly series. I should have probably mentioned that my concept of time is a bit, um, different than the standard units of measuring time. When I first thought of this idea, I initially thought that I would like to choose one day a week, preferably the same day each week, in which to carry out a “weekly series.” However, my schedule varies and changes daily. Thanks for bearing with me while I try to carve a weekly space for this writing!

Yesterday, I had time, but I did not come online much because of the internet strike against SOPA and PIPA. I was very happy that WordPress chose to participate in the strike, and blacked out the content on the main page. On the whole, I was impressed by the efforts across the internet to take a strong stance against these bills and to raise general awareness to the public.

Many sites offered reasons why they opposed these bills, and offered links to take further direct action. Google gave a statement and an online petition that would be sent directly to Congress. Wikipedia gave a redirect in which you could enter your zipcode to receive contact information on your district representatives.

I am against both SOPA and PIPA because I believe in a free exchange of information and ideas across the world via the internet. And while I understand the concerns about copyright and piracy and intellectual property – governmental control of the internet is not the answer. I wonder if people who are not opposed to these bills understand the full implications of such.

The first thing that came to my mind is the Occupy Movement. On my local television and radio stations in New York, the Occupy Wall Street movement was given the thinnest of coverage, and what was covered was filtered through bias and propoganda. All of my information about what was really going on came from the internet. In a government controlled internet, it would be possible to block ANY information that the government decides upon. SOPA and PIPA are not just about copyright and piracy and intellectual property. It is a challenge to our concept of Democracy.

Recently I was thinking about the time in my life shortly after I gave birth to my first daughter. I remember that I was watching the news on the television, and as I watched story after terrible story, a pit of despair grew within me until I was in tears. All I could think about was, What kind of world did I bring my child into?

And though I have never been a person to stand by and watch in silence, it was that moment that rooted me in this world. And however naive this may sound, I still believe that it is possible to make the world a better place.

I feel that it is essential to participate in whichever way I can; there is too much at stake. The strongest reason that I became a teacher is because I believe that education is key to helping future generations become more active and aware of the world and their place in it. This is how I raise my children and this is how I live my life.

Continuing with the theme of “Lost Children”, I feel that we are a society of lost children, trying to find our way, hoping that this time we may find the right path. Today, I want to share some old poems. I don’t write very much about my children, but when they were young it was the only way I could process the experience. These poems are about my own children and my experience as being a young mother, a single parent, and a struggling writer.

Click here to view three poems from my unpublished collection of poetry, My Mother’s Daughter.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

