michelle augello-page

“To realize one’s destiny is a person’s only obligation.” ~ Paulo Coelho

Before reading The Alchemist, I had heard about it in a number of different ways. But for some reason, I didn’t seek it out. It wasn’t until I saw the book literally in front of me at a library book sale that I picked it up. And I’m so glad I did, because this book is a gift to read. It is radiant, and necessary.

Coelho writes The Alchemist simply, as a fable. Yet, it is one of the most profound and important books I have ever read. What Coelho has to say about dreams, about love, about the very essence of our existence … is illuminating, provocative, and inspiring.

The copy I have is a 10th anniversary edition, with a commemorative introduction by Coelho. I am going to transcribe some of his reflections here:

I remember…

View original post 718 more words

You must be logged in to post a comment.

