happy new year!

There are only a few days left in 2014, and I am ready to begin the new year! This has been a year of transitions, a roller-coaster of highs and lows.

My first book of stories, Into the Woods, was published by Oneiros Books this year! I also published stories in several different anthologies including, A Princess Bound (ed. Kristina Wright, Cleis Press), The Big Book of Submission & Best Bondage Erotica 2014 (ed. Rachel Kramer Bussel, Cleis Press), Niall Parkinson’s No Sight for the Saved & Serial Killers Quattor (James Ward Kirk Fiction).

I had the honor of receiving an Editor’s Choice Award from JWK Fiction for my story “She,” which was published in Niall Parkinson’s No Sight for the Saved, and I was a featured reader at Lotus Blooms in Old Town Alexandria, VA and the Boundless Tales Reading Series in Queens, NY. Siren is still going strong; we published our fifth issue in 2014, and our 6th issue will be published by the end of next month!

In 2014, I said goodbye to a close friend’s mother, our beloved cat, and a person I dated for several years. The world also lost many people this year, and I felt affected particularly by the passing of Maya Angelou, H.R. Giger, and Robin Williams. 2014 has also seen an increased amount of people waking up, challenging long-established systems of oppression, and trying to affect positive changes in the world.

Over the last several months, I’ve been going through a period of reflection. The last half of 2014 was a very difficult, challenging time for me (as evidenced by the amount of blog posts I’ve written), in which I believe I went through a dark night of the soul, or “a spiritual emergency.” Emerging from this, I feel stronger. Looking forward, I feel optimistic and inspired to accept all that 2015 has to offer.

2015 will be a year of change for me. Having moved away from an unhealthy relationship, I’ve been able to see just how negative and destructive another person’s influence on my life can be, and also, how little I cared for my self over the last few years. I’ve been trying to practice self-care and self-compassion, while taking steps to make real changes in my life, which includes all aspects of my life.

It seems like my life is always about change, but really my life is always in flux. Real change takes time to root, and it is not always easy. The constants in my life are my writing, my family, and my friends. I am so grateful for the love and support I receive from so many people throughout my life that no matter what hardships I encounter, I still feel blessed. That is such a gift. Thank you.

A new year is a new beginning, another chance to start again, anew. Wishing you all an abundance of health, happiness, inspiration, love, and luck in the new year!

*

You must be logged in to post a comment.

